Online Markets for Short Science Fiction

Based on a variety of sources, including Locus Magazine‘s February 2016 issue with Book and Magazine Summaries from 2015, I put together the following listings of viable online (or mainly digital) locations to publish science fiction and fantasy fiction stories. I hope the listing is useful to you and might offer expanded options for places to submit your stories, poetry, and essays. Tip of the iceberg: there’s a lot more than this online, but these venues are all good places to look for publication online, whether as primarily online magazines, or hybrids that offer both print editions as well as online options (such as e-book subscriptions)

ONLINE (large and mid-size publications)
Tor.com (www.tor.com)
Analog Science Fiction & Fact Magazine (http://www.analogsf.com)
Asimov’s Science Fiction (http://www.asimovs.com/)
Fantasy & Science Fiction Magazine (http://www.sfsite.com/fsf/)
Strange Horizons (http://www.strangehorizons.com/)
Shimmer (shimmerzine.com)
Beneath Ceaseless Skies (www.beneath-ceaseless-skies.com)
Abyss & Apex Magazine (www.abyssapexmagazine.com)
Electric Spec (www.electricspec.com)
Fantastic Stories of the Imagination (www.fantasticstoriesoftheimagination.com)
Daily Science Fiction (www.dailysciencefiction.com)
Amazing Stories (amazingstoriesmag.com)
The Dark Magazine (www.thedarkmagazine.com)
Forever Magazine (forever-magazine.com)
Interfictions (interfictions.com)
Omenanan Magazine of African Speculative Fiction (omenana.com)
Unlikely Story (www.unlikely-story.com)
Kaleidotrope (www.kaleidotrope.net)
Space and Time Magazine (http://www.spaceandtimemagazine.com/)
Mythic Delirium / Clockwork Phoenix (mythicdelirium.net)
Shattered Prism (shatteredprism.com)

 

NONFICTION 
(note: some do present poetry and flash fiction / short fiction along w/their reviews, essays)
SF Signal (www.sfsignal.com)
Black Gate (www.blackgate.com) sf reviews
Escape Pod (www.escapepod.org)
PodCastle (www.podcastle.org)
PseudoPod (www.pseudopod.org)
The Coode Street Podcast (jonathanstrahan.podbean.com) w/g.k. wolfe
Writing Excuses (www.writingexcuses.com)
Galactic Suburbia (galacticsuburbia.podbean.com)
StarShipSofa: the Audio Science Fiction Magazine (www.starshipsofa.com)
Geek’s Guide to the Galaxy (https://geeksguideshow.com/)
The Agony Column (agonycolumn.com)

 
CRITICAL JOURNALS
Journal of the Fantastic in the Arts (www.fantastic-arts.org/jfa)
Science Fiction Studies (http://www.depauw.edu/sfs/)
Cascadia Subduction Zone: a Literary Quarterly (www.thecsz.com)
Foundation (http://www.sf-foundation.org/publications/foundation/index.html)
Vector (british journal of science fiction)
Extrapolation / liverpool university press (http://extrapolation.liverpooluniversitypress.co.uk/)
SF Commentary (free pdf download www.eFanzines.com/SFC)
New York Review of Science Fiction (http://www.nyrsf.com/)
Femspec (www.femspec.org)
 
Other ONLINE (smaller or notable for SFF) 

Flash Fiction Online (www.flashfictiononline.com)
The Colored Lens (thecoloredlens.com)
Saturday Night Reader (https://saturdaynightreader.com/wp/)  flash fiction online Canada.

 
Not SFF but FLASH and experimental
3 AM Magazine (http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/ )
Pank (http://pankmagazine.com/)
Hobart (http://www.hobartpulp.com/)
Word Riot (http://www.wordriot.org/)
100 Word Story (http://www.100wordstory.org/)
The Collagist (http://thecollagist.com/)

About The Author

Gregory Scheckler

Author